Correctional Officer
Benefits & Pay

TRAINING PROVIDED

During the probationary period, Correctional Officers are paid while attending a Training Academy, located in Palmer, Alaska.

42 HOUR, FIVE DAY WORK WEEK SCHEDULE

PAY PACKAGE WITH SCHEDULED RAISES

Starting Hourly Wage:

  Anchorage Nome Fairbanks Juneau Ketchikan Seward Bethel
Correctional Officer I $19.71 $26.42 $20.90 $20.70 $22.28 $21.69 $27.21
Correctional Officer II $22.34 $29.94 $23.68 $23.46 $25.24 $24.57 $30.83

Please note: Beginning salary rates may change depending on location of position.

Correctional Officer I will advance to Correctional Officer II after 12-14 months of probationary service and upon successful completion of the Alaska Police Standards Council certification requirements.

There are scheduled raises based on performance.

HEALTH BENEFITS

Employees may choose between three levels of health and dental insurance - premium, standard or economy. Also the employee has the option to elect one of three levels of vision coverage - premium, standard or no coverage. For more information please visit the Retirement and Benefits website at Insurance Benefits .

PAID LEAVE AND HOLIDAYS

Correctional Officers accrue personal leave, which may be used for sick or vacation time. If certain criteria are met, leave may be cashed-in. There are 11 paid holidays each year.

Personal Leave Accrual:
Years of Service Hrs Per Pay Period
0 - 2 11.08
2 - 5 12.47
5 - 10 13.85
10+ 16.62

DEFERRED COMPENSATION PLAN

The Defined Contribution Retirement Plan allows employees to voluntarily set aside a portion of their income before it is taxed. The maximum that you may defer: Under 50 years is $13, 000 annually or 50% of your taxable earnings; 50 years and older is $16,000 or 50% of your taxable earnings.

PAID LIFE INSURANCE

Basic Life and Accidental Death & Dismemberment premium is paid by the State. It covers the employee, spouse and eligible children. Basic Life and Accidental Death & Dismemberment pays $2,000 for employee's death and lesser amounts for dependent's death, with an additional $5,000 if the employee's death is accidental. In addition, you may choose to enroll in Optional Life for a very low cost. The amount of Optional life available to you is equal to your annual income rounded to the next highest $1000. The maximum available is $60,000. The plan pays double the face value if your death is accidental.

Disclaimer: The aforementioned information attempts to be as accurate as possible; however, to receive the most current information regarding benefits and pay, refer to the following websites:

http://www.state.ak.us/drb/ and http://fin.admin.state.ak.us/dof/payroll/payroll_current_sal.jsp

The State of Alaska complies with Title I of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). Individuals with disabilities who require special accommodation, auxiliary aides or services, or alternative communication formats call 1-800-587-0430 or 465-4095 in Juneau or (907) 465-3412 (TTY) or contact the Division of Personnel. We are an equal opportunity employer and support workplace diversity.